Cold classrom – Cold hands

Hello all. Sorry it has been a while since you’ve heard from us. Life got busy – but we want to get back in the habit of writing to you! In my last article, Gifts for Mom, I talked about the cowl and the fingerless gloves I made for my mother. Today I’m going to talk about my next iteration of gloves – transformable. My girlfriend, Cacia, teaches in building that was not originally designed to be a school, and consequently wasn’t made to have all of the buildings be comfortable – temperature wise – all year round. She had let me know that her hands would get cold, but gloves weren’t a great solution because they would get messy when she’d use chalk.

I decided that I would make her a pair of transformational mittens, so her palm would be warm, and her fingers would be warm when she didn’t need to be holding things. Now, Brian and I have a fair amount of magazines where we find patterns, and I’ve made Cacia mittens before from our collective patterns. I didn’t, however, have a pattern for transformational mittens, nor did I originally know what they were called. Initially I wanted to do a ravelry search for these kind of patterns, but after a few failed searches I realized that I needed to go to figure out what the category of clothing I wanted to make was called. Once I realized that transformational was the search term I wanted, and an entire search term that could be done on Raverly I was finally able to start looking at patterns.


I decided on a pattern called Convertible Mittens, Uninterrupted by Farrah Hodgson, I was attracted to this design for a few reasons: when the mitten pouch is up, there are still half fingers, rather than no fingers – providing better warmth for the wearers. It was astatically pleasing, and a new version had been updated last year which included pictures. As I’ve had some trouble with patterns needing errata in the past, this felt like a great place to start.
If you have used this pattern, or taken a look on ravelry, you’ll notice that my transformable gloves don’t match the pattern 100%. You’ll remember that chalk was one of the issues that dissuaded Cacia from using gloves in the first place. Well most of the transformational glove patters on Ravelry that I looked at included solid thumbs. The thumb would still get chalky if there was a solid thumb, so I created a thumb pouch, so that all five digits are always in half gloves, but the finger and thumb tips can be covered as necessary.

These gloves were well received by Cacia, and by a few others. I’m working on a pair for Brain and I’s regular server at CB Potts, my friend Chris in Greeley, and I’ll make one for my GM (our manager office is very cold a lot of the time) if I feel like I can learn to size the patter back – she has hands that are quite small. I appreciate any advice/thoughts you can offer on sizing clothing.
Have you had any projects that were intended for one person, but ended up being made for many people?

Leave a Reply

