Hooker Hookups – Across the gender line

The last time I talked about Hooker Hookups I mentioned how Siñor Party came to be back in the fold of crochet. I’m happy to report that he will be joining us tonight at Alfalfa’s for our Wednesday ‘Stitch n’ Bitch’ circle. Given that the bulk of the circle will be female – Siñor Party, Brian and myself as the exception – and the gender inequality represented in yarn arts that Brian talked about yesterday, today I’d like to mention some of my interactions with a female hooker.

I’ve mentioned Jenn before on a few occasions – notably her scarf and hot chocolate. After receiving her scarf and hearing about our crochet centered happy hour she decided that it would be fun to learn how to crochet. We had a game plan last Thursday to meet up at Fushing and then for me to teach her a bit of crochet basics. I left a few minutes early so I could run by Jo-Ann’s to get a few items to prepare a little gift pack for Jenn. This included a Coats Yarn Red Heart Super Saver Yarn, Earthy from my stash, Susan Bates Aluminum Crochet Hook Set (G-J) which I bought from Jo-Ann’s and our traditional DEWALT DW2190 Heavy Duty Medium Tough Case from Home Depot.

image image image image

Jenn was very happy with her gift bag, and after dinner we went back to the Hooker Home Base – okay that’s just Brian and I’s place – where we meet up with Siñor Party and Brian. We worked on the basics for a while – chaining and single crochets. Once 9 O’clock hit we moved from the house to CB Potts for our traditional happy hour crocheting. Over drinks I worked on my mother’s cowl while Siñor party and Jenn continued to practice. It was fun recruiting a new hooker, even one who wasn’t male.

In the time since Jenn has moved on to practicing with half doubles. You can see them below. In addition Jenn is part of the Michael J. Fox foundation. She found a crochet related fund raiser for Parkinsons in the UK  – you may have seen the post we shared on Facebook. She’s proposed a Male Hooker team up with the foundation near Christmas, so we can help raise money for Parkinsons. Stay tuned for more information of that cause.

image image

Have you taught any of a different sex to crochet? How did it go for you?

4 thoughts on “Hooker Hookups – Across the gender line

Leave a Reply

