The minority crocheters: Our first Yarn Fest.

Aaron and I had been looking forward to last weekend for a while.  We have been getting together with a “stitch and Bitch” group on Wednesday nights that are a lot of fun to hang out with, but this last weekend was our first adventure into the larger community world of the yarn crafts.

We traveled up to Loveland, Colorado for the Interweave Yarn fest.  Unfortunately, we couldn’t attend any of the clinics and workshops that they offered.  Apparently, all people who knit/crochet can take off work any time they want or are assumed to not have jobs, because there’s no such thing as an evening class.  All of the ones that looked interesting to me were on a Thursday afternoon.

Because our schedules wouldn’t let us take part in the clinics, we decided we’d at least go up for their marketplace event.  We figured we’d get to look at a bunch of yarn options, see a bunch of ideas for projects, and pick up a pattern or two or some fun toys.

Senor Party heard we were going and wanted to join us, so we all piled in the minivan and headed up. It was only a 40 minute drive so my wife and daughter came along too.  They wouldn’t be going to look at yarn, and instead would go shopping for gardening supplies.  She writes her own blog about all things “crunchy” and about our adventures in becoming a suburban self sufficient family at coloradourbanhomesteader.com.  You should check it out if you’re into canning, gardening, making your own soaps, etc….

We got to the hotel/convention center and quickly realized we were the demographic abnormality.  Under 40, male, and of diverse ethnic persuasion (Aaron and Senor party, not me).  We went inside and waited in line to get our tickets and were met by some really nice ladies who seemed to wonder where our wives were.

image

AS we walked down the hall to the marketplace room there was a sad and pathetic looking conglomeration of husbands who were sullenly sitting in scattered chairs waiting for their wives to get done shopping.  All of them looked like this was the most boring thing in the world they could be doing, and it was kind of funny to us.  I guess we’d see the same reaction at a car show too in reverse, but it’s kind of sad in either direction when your significant other doesn’t at least feign interest in your hobbies.

The hall was wall to wall yarn of every size, color, material and style you could think of.  There was looms, weaving, knitting, felting, ceramic yarn bowls, and every manner of knitting you could imagine: but there was virtually NO CROCHET.

Now, I’m using hyperbole a bit.  There was the occasional random scarf in a booth, and there was one, exactly one, booth that was selling crochet patterns, but by-and-large there was almost no representation.  I know that yarn is universal for all the arts, but even when we were in the booths, all the vendors would almost stop talking to us when we mentioned crochet and even had a few of them tell us that we should just switch to knitting.

I don’t have anything against knitting.  I actually get a lot of “knit Envy” when I see some of the awesome thing that you can do.  I actually plan on learning that down the line as well, but  I really want to feel like I’ve mastered one craft before I take on another.  I love crocheting, and the variety that it lends itself to.  Animals, Blankets, Clothing, Hats, etc…

I was hoping to buy some patterns, find a book or two I didn’t have, and learn about some good resources, but to no avail, nothing was relevant. I thought for sure there would be a representation of like Amigurumi Patterns and artists or something, but nope.

So we met some really nice people, and everyone loved our name.  We got lots of giggles and snickers about being Male Hookers, but Aaron bought a couple yarn balls for a hat he’s making and I got a couple for myself.  We found some other local yarn stores near us and were told that they had some crocheting groups there.  We’ll see how that pans out.

It was a good time, but I couldn’t help but feel a bit marginalized and in the minority.  The class offerings, had I been able to attend definitely skewed on the side of knitting as well, and I’ve been unable to find any crochet classes in my area beyond a basic intro class.

I’m left wondering if it’s just our area, or if Crochet is the forgotten and overlooked hobby everywhere in the fiber arts world.

I guess that just means that Aaron and I need to get so good we can lead the hooker Revolution.  Vive la “Cro-sistance!”

8 thoughts on “The minority crocheters: Our first Yarn Fest.

  1. Fun post! 🙂 I had to laugh out loud at the group of sullen husbands … XD Also, everything I wanted to say was already said by Naelany so I guess all that’s left is for me to wish you mad luck on the “Cro-sistance” 😀 May the force be with you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. In the UK, people I’ve met tend to stick to crochet or knitting(rarely both) – with most being knitters.

    Crochet and knitting both seem to have an old lady vibe associated to them despite there being a surge in popularity a couple of years ago.

    Patterns for men’s clothing are few and far between. I do however have a couple of nice Tunisian crochet patterns for guys sweaters- from magazines.

    Like

  3. you know how knitting is usually put as “little old lady” crafting? The stigma that we still face even now that it’s gained traction and being made ‘cool’ again? I think it’s actually a lot worse for crochet.
    People hear crochet and think “granny’s doilies” or some such. If you do a pattern search on ravelry, you’ll get inundated with either amiragumi (which, while cool, isn’t something most people are into and has limited function) or old-fashioned ditties that look like they belong to your great-grandmother or possibly your mother if she were a hippie from the 70’s. Maybe. But something beautiful and modern and sleek, like so many of the knitting patterns out? Not so much. And that’s a shame, because crochet can be very beautiful and artsy and modern.

    It’s also one of the reasons I love seeing you guys take on those conventions and do what you do 🙂 Maybe some day, crochet will be recognized for what it is: an awesome yarn craft worthy of respect.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. And Heaven help me if I want to find a pattern for Men’s clothing beyond a basic beanie. Apparently that’s all we wear. I need to get good enough to start making patterns. If only there were classes to help me improve…………D’oh!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

