Hooker Hookups

Yesterday I was working on Yoda (spoiler alert, he’s finished) when I got a text from a friend indicating he wanted to meet up. The text was from Shawn Rae. Shawn Rae usually joins Brian and I at happy hour when we get our crochet on. He’s also plays Diablo III with us every so often. I have a user on my PlayStation 3 which I made for Shawn Rae, entitled SR Party; ’cause there ain’t no party like a Shawn Rae party … Over time, and many drinks at a happy hour, Brian decided that SR Party should be Señor Party (Sr is the abbreviation in Spanish for señor). Brian has Shawn Rae in his phone this way, and at Brian’s request that’s how we will refer to Shawn Rae from now on in the blog.

I have Wednesday and Thursday’s off from work, so I was more than happy to get together midday. We agreed to meet at a local Panera at noon. After some iced coffee and a bowl of turkey chili (we both got the same meal) the conversation turned to what we wanted to do with the day. Yesterday was beautiful in the metro area, and we both wanted to be outside. We decided that we’d hang out for a while in the shopping center where that the Panera is located at, and eventually find an outdoor patio so that I could continue to work on Yoda before I needed to leave to take care of some late afternoon business.

We stopped in a few shops when Señor Party decided that he would join me in my crocheting adventures. He had crocheted as a kid, and Brian and I have been inviting him to come to various crocheting adventures. Despite having crocheted once upon a time, he didn’t have any supplies. We went to Michael’s, conveniently located in the same shopping center we where already in, were Señor Party bought a few items. A skein of red yarn to practice with, and a Susan Bates Silvalume Aluminum Crochet Hook Set F-K. We went to Starbucks for another round of caffeine and then moved to the patio to crochet in the nice weather.

20160310_145711[1]20160310_145713[1]

Señor Party and I revived how to hold his hook and yarn, how to chain, do single, half double and double stitches. I worked on Yoda in between Señor Party’s practice with new stitches. You can see from the above picture that I have my normal DEWALT DW2190 Heavy Duty Medium Tough Case (if you missed Brian’s review on storage gear I recommend giving it a read here) and Yoda sprawled across the table. Next time you all see Señor Party I’m hopping he will also have some storage toys for us to show you.

Señor Party has agreed to start joining our Wednesday crocheting/knitting circle starting in a few weeks. He may be the first hooker recruit we have.  Who have you brought into the fold of crocheting and where do you like to crochet?

6 thoughts on “Hooker Hookups

  1. I’ve only been crocheting since November, but I successfully managed to teach a friend how to do amigurumi and now we have formed our own ‘club’ which just consists of the two of us at he moment! We meet at a costa coffee shop and stay for hours! I usually crochet alone in my local coffee shop, in fact I’m here right now!

    Like

  2. Nice! One of us! One of us!
    I feel like you missed out on putting a Sombrero on him for his introduction.
    Don’t get me started on D3. I am addictive and play til I just can’t stand to play anymore.

    I did get a friend to crochet with me! We meet up once a week and I’m slowly teaching her. I have 4 kids and she has a new baby so we are boring and are house hookers. We enjoy it.

    To see Yoda I want. Did you post a picture somewhere aside from him lying on the table in this post?

    Like

Leave a Reply

