Cabled beanie hat for sister in law

This is my first attempt at cabling on a beanie hat. My sister in law asked for a hat, and I found this nice looking pattern in the Crochet One-Skein Wonders®: 101 Projects from Crocheters around the World

The pattern was easy to interpret and there were good descriptions of new stitches I used such as a front post treble crochet and back post treble crochet.

I used my first really nice yarn for this project and chose a Cascade Yarns 220 Superwash SPORT #900 – CHARCOAL. I enjoyed the yarn greatly and it opened up nicely to the point of the hook but was forgiving and pliable.

The hat will eventually have a Pom on it as was requested by my sis in law, and my wife is modeling it in the picture and is threatening to keep it. I finished this in 2 days and about 4 and a half hours of hooking.

I’ve received a lot of compliments so far and really am happy with the results. Let me know what you think in the comments

5 thoughts on “Cabled beanie hat for sister in law

Leave a Reply

